McSWEENEY’S NEW RELEASE SUBSCRIPTION

Ultimate combo sub.v2 6
$95.00
for 6 books
Published: May, 2021
Existing subscriber? Log in to renew.
This is the page for McSweeney’s New Release Subscription, formerly known as McSweeney’s Book Release Club. Looking to upgrade to a 12-month membership to our new Virtual Book Club? Click here. If you’re already a subscriber and would like to upgrade, email bookclub@mcsweeneys.net with the subject line “book club upgrade.” We’ll send all info on virtual meetings to both New Release subscribers and official Book Club members.

Get our next six books sent straight to your mailbox prior to or immediately upon publication with our official McSweeney’s New Release Subscription. On their own these books can retail for anywhere from $16-$30, so dollar-for-book, McSweeney’s New Release Subscription is far and away the best deal we’ve ever put together, and very possibly the best subscription deal out there. With a future full of uncertainty at home and abroad, we’ve got a packed scheduled of exciting new releases planned to make sure that one thing you CAN rely on are amazing new books from McSweeney’s Publishing.

Take a look at what you’ll have coming your way

Ivory Shoals by John Brandon
In the tradition of Mark Twain and Cormac McCarthy comes this distinctly American, pulse-quickening epic from the acclaimed author of Citrus County and Arkansas.

Twelve-year-old Gussie Dwyer—audacious, resilient, determined to adhere to the morals his mother instilled in him—undertakes to trek across the sumptuous yet perilous peninsula of post-Civil War Florida in search of his father, a man who has no idea of his son’s existence. Gussie’s journey sees him cross paths with hardened Floridians of every stripe, from the brave and noble to a bevy of cutthroat villains, none worse than his amoral shark of a half brother. Will he survive his quest, and at what cost?

Rich in deadpan humor as well as visceral details that illuminate a diverse cast of characters, the novel uncovers deep truths about family and self-determination as the reader tracks Gussie’s dangerous odyssey out of childhood. Ivory Shoals is an unforgettable story from a contemporary master.

“I opened John Brandon’s new novel and fell hard. An adventure full of pluck and wonder, far-flung and yet uniquely, specifically American. I hope I never recover.”
—Daniel Handler, author of All The Dirty Parts, Bottle Grove, and Why We Broke Up

“John Brandon is a marvelous storyteller. With diamond-cut elegance and wit, Brandon’s suspenseful tale depicts a young man’s search for kinship in a beguiling and often terrifying world. Ivory Shoals is a book of grit, heart, and intricate beauty.”
—Patrick Cottrell, author of Sorry to Disrupt the Peace


The Every by Dave Eggers
When the world’s largest search engine/social media company, the Circle, merges with the planet’s dominant e-commerce site, it creates the richest and most dangerous–and, oddly enough, most beloved–monopoly ever known: the Every.

Delaney Wells is an unlikely new hire. A former forest ranger and unwavering tech skeptic, she charms her way into an entry-level job with one goal in mind: to take down the company from within. With her compatriot, the not-at-all-ambitious Wes Makazian, they look for the company’s weaknesses, hoping to free humanity from all-encompassing surveillance and the emoji-driven infantilization of the species. But does anyone want what Delaney is fighting to save? Does humanity truly want to be free?

Studded with unforgettable characters and lacerating set pieces, The Every blends satire and terror, while keeping the reader in breathless suspense about the fate of the company–and the human animal.

The Every follows through not only on the world Dave Eggers created in The Circle but on the absurd and alarming world we’ve created for ourselves. With oracular precision, he takes us on a journey equal parts terrifying and human and hilarious. This is Eggers at the top of his game.”
—Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Prize finalist for The Great Believers


People Want to Live by Farah Ali
People Want to Live, Farah Ali’s debut collection, features stories of togetherness and reckless faith in the face of a world that’s built to break us.

Set in Pakistan, these award-winning stories follow people living on the brink of abandonment—in their personal relationships and their place in the world. A mother, coping with the sudden death of her son, uncovers long buried secrets in his absence. An anguished girl grabs a chance for a life beyond the orphanage walls where she lives and discovers the price of freedom. A young couple tries to keep their fraught relationship steady as a heat wave engulfs their city. A son returns to visit his aging parents while beset with memories of a troubled childhood. And two thieves find themselves in a situation more precarious by the minute, and more dangerous than their original mission.

Ali’s characters battle loneliness and in their fight reveal surprising vulnerabilities and an astonishing measure of hope.

“The stories in People Want to Live are ones of aftermath—a lost child, an ambition dashed, an irrevocable mistake. Farah Ali writes with a precise and profound understanding of the most vital dimensions of the human experience, and these stories illuminate how connection can be found in even the bleakest moments. People Want to Live is the work of a thrilling and essential new voice.”
—Laura van den Berg, author of I Hold a Wolf by the Ears


IMPORTANT LOGISTICAL INFORMATION: All subscriptions placed by August 15 will start with Ivory Shoals. Exact book order liable to change due to unforeseen delays. All McSweeney’s New Release Subscriptions automatically renew after six books. Before the start of each six-book renewal, and in the case of any future rate changes, we will notify you via email. If you’d like to cancel your subscription at any time prior to its auto-renewal, you can log in to your account and adjust your subscription settings. Or, send an email to custservice@mcsweeneys.net with the subject line End New Release Autorenew. Or, call (415) 642-5609. Refunds will be accepted only up until the first issue of your renewal is shipped. Any subscription purchased with the “gift” option marked at checkout will not be enrolled in autorenew.

International shipping costs for a 4-issue subscription (1 year): $50