To subscribe to McSweeney’s Quarterly, click here.

A finalist for the National Magazine Award in design.

Combining art, fiction, audio, and a slew of unclassifiable print objects in a custom box, McSweeney’s 64 is a riotous exploration of audiovisual storytelling, coproduced with Radiotopia from PRX (home to genius, independent audio creators including Song Exploder, Criminal, Ear Hustle, and more). Each piece in the issue establishes its own relationship between audio and print—the contributor’s unique experiment in weaving the mediums.

Included are Rion Amilcar Scott with a short fiction piece featuring two alternative audio endings; Pulitzer Prize-nominated composer Kate Soper with a transhumanist, interactive software upload; DeafBlind poet John Lee Clark on the limits of accessibility; Claudia Dey, Jason Reynolds, Renee Gladman, Sharon Mashihi, and more taking us on audio tours of our own homes; Aliya Pabani with a radio drama whose plot is complicated by a 24″ x 30″ illustrated poster; Ian Chillag with an absurdist, interactive phone tree; James T. Green, Catherine Lacey, and This American Life’s Sean Cole with voicemail dispatches to the editor; National Book Award-finalist Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Aimee Bender, and Kelli Jo Ford with short stories that braid in audio; and so much more.


Contains contributions by:
Andrew Leland
Rion Amilcar Scott
Cher Vincent
Adriene Lilly
John Lee Clark
Katie Booth
Cristina Hartmann
Joseph Keckler
Rick Moody
Chris Abrahams
Kali Fajardo-Anstine
Aimee Bender
Kelli Jo Ford
Jeremiah Moore
Andy Slater
Yvette Janine Jackson
Ian Chillag
Karinne Keithley Syers
Kate Soper
Shayla Lawz
Aliya Pabani
Michael Kirkham

Voicemails to the Editor by:
Catherine Lacey
Graham Mason
Sean Cole
Barbara Fremont
Sayre Quevedo
Kellie Mejdrich
David Weinberg
Bianca Giaever
Deborah Kelley
James T. Green

Audio Tours by:
Katharina Smets
Edwina Attlee
Angela Shackel
Claudia Dey
Eliza Smith
Jacob Winik
Sharon Mashihi
Renee Gladman
Sara Brooke Curtis
Jason Reynolds

Descriptive Transcripts by:
Andrew Sean Greer
Hernan Diaz
Patrick Cottrell
Brandon Hobson
Meg Wolitzer
Dorothea Lasky
Aliya Pabani
Alexandra Kleeman
Shannon Finnegan
Joseph Keckler